Orange County Criminal Defense Attorney
Stay Informed. Follow Developments on Our Criminal Defense Blog.

How to Obtain a Carry Concealed Weapons (CCW) License

Are you interested in obtaining a California Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) license? If so, continue reading as we explain how to accomplish this goal, but for starters we’re going to briefly discuss the requirements for purchasing a firearm in California.

In the State of California, all firearms purchases and transfers must be done through a California licensed dealer through a process called a “Dealer’s Record of Sale” or DROS. This also applies to firearms purchased at gun shows and private party transactions.

Under California law, all transfers and purchases are subject to a mandatory 10-day waiting period before a firearm can be released to a transferee or purchaser. Here are some other mandatory guidelines:

  • You must be at least 18 years-of-age to purchase a shotgun or rifle.
  • You must be at least 21 years-of-age to purchase a handgun.
  • To purchase a firearm, you must present “clear evidence of identity and age,” which is defined as a valid California’ driver license or ID card, or by a military ID with permanent duty station orders indicating that you’re posted in California.
  • If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must provide documentation to the firearms dealer with your Alien Registration Number (I-94 Number) proving you are in the U.S. legally.
  • If you are purchasing a handgun, you must provide proof of your California residency.
  • To purchase a handgun, you must: 1) obtain a Handgun Safety Certificate and complete a safety demonstration with the handgun you recently purchased, or 2) meet the requirements for an HSC exemption.

How to Apply for a CCW License

To obtain a Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) license, you need to contact the county sheriff’s office where you live, or if you reside in an incorporated city, you need to contact your city police department. These agencies can provide you with the CCW license policy statement and application.

What you need to know about CCW licenses:

  • It is illegal to carry a concealed firearm unless you have a valid CCW license.
  • CCW licenses can only be obtained by California county sheriffs to county residents, or by the chief of police to people who reside in their city.
  • Out of state CCW licenses are not recognized in California.

To learn about obtaining a CCW license from the Orange County Sheriff’s Department, click here. To fight weapons charges in Orange County, contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for a free case evaluation.

Categories: