While the nation is trying to figure out how to survive, we are still here to help with all of your legal needs. We have already implemented procedures to protect our staff as well as our clients. We are available by phone to help you as you struggle through what to do next with your legal concerns. We remain dedicated to providing you top notch service, our legal expertise, and the social distancing that is necessary at this time. Please check us out on Facebook for daily updates as to court closures throughout Southern California. Be well!

Orange County Criminal Defense Attorney
Stay Informed. Follow Developments on Our Criminal Defense Blog.

California's New Failure to Pay Law

Ever heard about someone getting a moving violation for speeding or running a red light whose California driver license was suspended because they couldn’t afford to pay it? Maybe that person was you.

If you’ve ever been in this situation or if you’ve ever known someone who has, they probably argued, “How am I supposed to pay my ticket if my license is suspended and I can’t make it to work?” Well, after realizing suspending people’s licenses for failing to pay didn’t work, California legislatures decided to rectify the broken system once and for all.

On June 27, 2017, Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. signed Assembly Bill 103 (AB 103), which makes it so the Department of Motor Vehicles can no longer accept Failure to Pay notices from the courts, and the DMV cannot withhold or suspend a driver license because a driver can’t afford to pay.

What About Failure to Appear Violations?

Does the new law also apply to situations where drivers failed to appear in court? No, it does not. If you fail to appear in court for a traffic violation, the court can still notify the DMV with a FTA notification so the DMV can suspend your driver license.

Facts about the new FTP law:

  • If you fail to pay your ticket, your license will not be suspended, nor will it be reported on your driving record, BUT you still have to arrange to pay the fine and court fees.
  • What if you failed to pay before the law went into effect? The DMV has removed all FTP suspensions from drivers’ records that occurred before June 27, 2017. So, your FTP suspension would have been removed as well.
  • If you want to see your driving record, you can do it online at www.dmv.ca.gov by paying a $2 fee. You can also do it in person at your local DMV office for $5, or you can mail a request.

Has your California driver license been suspended because of a DUI, too many points on your record, a failure to appear, or for another reason? Get the help you need by contacting the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for legal assistance!