Bail Schedule in Orange County, California

Orange County has established a bail schedule for individuals who have been arrested without a warrant. Such individuals may be released from custody before they appear in court providing they post bail according to the schedule. Upon the defendant’s first appearance, if bail is allowed, it will be at the sole discretion of the judge seeing the defendant, pursuant to Penal Code Section 1269(b). During the first appearance, the judge has the authority to set bail that is higher or lower than the bail schedule.

It is up to law enforcement to notify the judge they believe the bail set is not high enough for the crime. Additionally, if a warrantless arrest is made for a bailable felony, or for violating a domestic violence restraining order (a misdemeanor), and a police officer has reason to believe that the bail set by the judge was not enough to assure the victim’s protection, or to assure the defendant will appear in court, the officer can seek higher bail through a declaration under penalty of perjury.

A Glimpse at the Bail Schedule

According to the Superior Court of California County of Orange, if an offense and enhancement does not specify presumptive bail in the schedule, presumptive bail will be set according to the “state prison top term potential for the offense enhancement.” Here are just some examples:

  • If the top term is 3 years, bail is $20,000.
  • If the top term is 4 years, the bail is $25,000.
  • If the top term is 6 years, the bail is $35,000.
  • If the top term is 10 years, the bail is $55,000.
  • If the top term is 13 years, the bail is $75,000.

Felony bail schedule:

Here are some examples from the felony bail schedule:

  • If someone uses false documents to conceal their true citizenship, bail is $50,000.
  • If someone is accused of murder, there is NO bail.
  • DUI with gross negligence is $100,000 bail.
  • Voluntary manslaughter is $100,000 bail.
  • Involuntary manslaughter is $25,000 bail.
  • Vehicular homicide is $100,000 bail.
  • Aggravated mayhem is $1,000,000 bail.
  • Kidnapping a victim under the age of 14 is $500,000 bail.
  • Carjacking is $100,000 bail.

To learn more about the bail schedule, click here.

If you or someone you love is facing criminal charges in Orange County, contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. We can answer all of your questions and help you understand your defense options. Call today for a free case evaluation.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia Landry, Inc. - Orange County Criminal Defense Lawyer
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (866) 902-6880
Website:
© 2018 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 866.902.6880
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.