Are you interested in purchasing a firearm in California? If so, you’ll
want to familiarize yourself with California’s gun laws. Otherwise,
you could unknowingly break the law and face criminal charges. That said,
we’re going to provide a brief explanation of what it takes to purchase
a firearm legally in the Sunshine State.
“Generally, all firearms purchases and transfers, including private
party transactions and sales at gun shows, must be made through a California
licensed dealer under the Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) process,”
according to the State of California Department of Justice.
Requirements for Buying a Firearm in CA
Under California law, a firearm cannot be released to a purchaser until
he or she has gone through the 10-day waiting period. Beyond the waiting
period, the following criteria must be met before a firearm can be purchased
- The buyer must be 18 or older to purchase a shotgun or rifle.
- The buyer must be 21-years-of-age to purchase a handgun.
- The DROS process requires buyers to present proper identification, which
is defined as a current and valid California driver’s license or
an Identification Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or
a military ID with permanent duty station orders that show the buyer is
posted in California.
- If the buyer is not a U.S. citizen, he or she must prove that they are
in the U.S. legally by showing the firearm’s dealer documentation
with their I-94 Number or Alien Registration Number.
- Buyers must provide a utility bill, residential lease, or property deed
to prove their California residency.
- Buyers must have a Handgun Safety Certificate, and they must be able to
complete a safety demonstration with the handgun they recently purchased,
or the buyer must qualify for an HSC exemption.
If you are not sure if you are allowed to purchase a firearm because you
have a criminal record, or you are considered a danger to yourself or
others because of a mental illness, or for another reason,
check out this link on firearms prohibiting categories from the California Department of Justice
Bureau of Firearms.
A few examples of prohibited possessors:
- Illegal aliens
- Drug addicts
- Fugitives from justice
- Mentally disordered sex offenders
- Individuals who have been convicted of felonies
For more information on California’s gun laws, check out this
FAQ page on the State of California’s Department of Justice website.
Are you in trouble with the law because of a
weapons offense? To fight your charges,
contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. today!