Are you facing
drug possession charges in Orange County, or anywhere else in California? If so, and this
is your first drug offense, you’re probably wondering, “What
types of penalties am I facing if I’m convicted?” For the
answer to this question, continue reading as we help you better understand
what you’re up against.
In California, drug possession is criminalized under
Section 11350 of the Health and Safety Code. Under Sec. 11350, it’s against the
law to possess a controlled substance listed under Section 11054, Sec.
11055, or Sec. 11056 of the Health and Safety Code. It’s also illegal
to possess a controlled substance that is classified as a Schedule III,
IV, or V drug, which would be a “narcotic drug.”
While there are dozens of controlled substances listed under Sec. 11054,
here are some examples of prohibited drugs under
Sec. 11054 of the HSC:
Under Sec. 11350(b), the offense of drug possession is punishable by up
to one year in county jail, by a minimum fine of $1,000, or community
service. A second or subsequent drug possession offense is punishable
by incarceration, a minimum fine of $2,000, or community service. If the
defendant cannot afford to pay the fines, then he or she will be ordered
to perform community service instead.
Illegal Possession of a Prescription Medication
Each state has criminalized possessing a
prescription medication without a valid prescription. In California, it’s a criminal offense
to possess a prescription drug unless you received a written prescription
from a doctor, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian licensed in California.
Illegal possession of a prescription medication is punishable by up to
a $1,000 fine, or community service, and up to one year in jail for a
first offense. So, if you have a friend who wants to offer you a Vicodin
for pain, or some Ambien so you can get a good night’s sleep –
turn down their offer – it’s not worth the risk!
If you’re facing possession charges,
contact us to meet with an Orange County drug possession attorney for free!