DUI Attorney for DMV Hearings in Orange County
Fighting Your License Suspension
Many people who are facing their first DUI charge are unaware of the law
surrounding drunk driving and traffic laws and how it can affect their
driving privileges. Often, this is their first run in with the law altogether
and they are unsure of how to handle the situation. Panicked and worried
that an arrest means an automatic conviction, they fail to get the proper
legal help that they need to prevent a conviction from occurring.
If you have been arrested for DUI, that is just it - you have not yet been
convicted, and you have only been arrested. You still have a chance to
work with a
DUI defense attorney to come up with a skilled defense strategy to bring to court.
It is important that you move quickly though; your driving privileges
depend on your urgency. When a person is arrested for DUI, his/her driver's
license is confiscated by law enforcement. The person is then provided
with a temporary permit which allows them to drive for 30 days. After
a DUI arrest takes place, you will have exactly 10 days to contact the
California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to schedule an administrative
hearing. At this hearing, you will need to provide evidence that you were
in fact not driving under the influence of alcohol or another factor has
caused you to be charged with drunk driving. During the DMV hearing, a
DMV representative will meet with the person in a designated room. If
the DMV representative finds that the person is guilty, the person will
lose his/her driving privileges for a set period of time. However, if
the DMV representative finds that the person is not guilty, the person's
driving privileges will be reinstated.
Having your criminal defense lawyer present at this hearing is critical
if you wish to retain the privilege to drive. Without this privilege,
you will be unable to continue your life as before. You will be unable
to drive yourself to work, drive your children to school or practice,
drive to the supermarket, or even just drive down the block - it will
be against the law.
Get Help Today - Contact an Orange County DUI Lawyer
At the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc., the legal team works aggressively
and quickly to ensure that the rights of their clients are protected at
the DMV hearing. The DMV hearing is completely separate from the criminal
hearing, which will take place afterwards. This means that the outcome
of your DMV hearing will not affect the criminal hearing in any way, even
if you find a positive outcome. As such, it is important to have defense
at both hearings. Furthermore, in some cases, there may be a third meeting
for a civil matter if you caused an accident while under the influence
of drugs or alcohol.
There are many tricky matters with a DMV hearing that makes it vitally
important to have a criminal lawyer on your case. If the hearing with
the DMV is not scheduled within ten days of the arrest, your license will
automatically be suspended and you will be unable to drive anywhere.
As you can see, facing a DUI charge is very serious, and you will need
experienced legal help to prevent serious consequences in your life. For
more information, contact an Orange County DUI defense attorney today.
Call our firm at 866-902-6880 for a free initial consultation and find
out how Attorney Virginia Landry could fight for you!