Are you being accused of
unwanted sexual contact in Orange County, California? Or, are you facing criminal charges because
you allegedly “touched” someone inappropriately without their
consent? Either way, you could be facing criminal charges under
Section 243.4(a) of the California Penal Code,Sexual Battery. Under Sec. 243.4(a), you commit sexual battery if you:
- Touch another person’s intimate part while he or she is unlawfully
restrained by you or an accomplice, and the touching is against the person’s
will, and the touching was for sexual abuse, arousal, or gratification.
- Touch another person’s intimate part while he or she is unconscious
and the touching was for sexual arousal, abuse, or gratification.
- Touch another person’s intimate part while he or she is receiving
medical treatment and medically incapacitated or severely disabled, and
the touching is for sexual arousal, abuse, or gratification.
- Touch someone else’s intimate part and the person does not want to
be touched, and the touching is for sexual abuse, gratification, or arousal.
To further explain “touching,” Sec. 243.4(a) defines it as,
“physical contact with another person, whether accomplished directly,
through the clothing of the person committing the offense, or through
the clothing of the victim.”
For example, if a manager grabs a female employee’s breasts, he can
be found guilty of sexual battery. Or, if a college student pushed a female
against a wall and put his hands in her pubic area on campus, she could
file charges and he could be charged with sexual battery. Understandably,
there are many scenarios where someone could be faced with sexual battery
Penalties for Sexual Battery in California
If you are charged with sexual battery in California, the penalties depend
on the facts of the case. You could face up to one year in county jail
and a fine not to exceed $2,000. Or, in serious circumstances, you could
face up to four years in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
If you’re facing sexual battery charges,
contact our firm to set up a free case evaluation with an Orange County
criminal defense attorney!