As Orange County
criminal defense attorneys, we’ve been defending clients against marijuana-related
offenses for a long time. On Tuesday, November 8, 2016, California voters
made history when they, along with Nevada and Massachusetts decided to legalize
marijuana. Understandably, marijuana advocates in California are joyous about their
Before Tuesday’s election, recreational marijuana use was already
legal in Alaska, Colorado, Oregon and Washington, and in Washington D.C.
But, now with California, Nevada and Massachusetts following suit, marijuana
advocates across the nation hope that marijuana will soon be legal in
Representative Earl Blumenauer, a Democrat from Oregon and a supporter
of legalizing marijuana said that the “new administration is not
going to want to continue this toxic and nonproductive war on drugs.”
Gallup poll from October found that 60 percent of Americans supported marijuana legalization.
This victory in California, Nevada and Massachusetts is major and hopefully
the rest of the nation will begin to soften their marijuana laws so they
too can focus their tax dollars on more important crimes.
What the New Marijuana Law Says
Under the new measure in California, which passed with 56 percent in favor,
adults age 21 and over can possess up to one ounce of marijuana for personal
use, and they can cultivate up to 6 plants in their homes as long as the
plants are not out in the open.
While possession of up to one ounce for personal use is legal, it’s
still against the law to give away or sell marijuana. If you give away
28.5 grams or less, it’s a misdemeanor punishable by up to a fine
of $100 and selling any amount of marijuana is a felony, punishable by
up to 4 years in prison.
If you are facing any marijuana-related charges in Orange County, don’t
contact us for a free case evaluation. We’d be glad to explain the latest changes
in the law.